Home Page

Meet the Governors

At St. Swithun’s School the governing body is composed of teaching/non teaching staff, parents, Local Education Authority and members of Diocese commitee.


Current members of the governing body:


Canon Tony Walker Chair of Governors (Foundation)
Mr John Newbold Parochial Church Council (Foundation)
Mr Adrian Jackson Head of School
Mrs Lynne Tunnard Staff Governor
Mr Christopher Trend Diocesan Education Committee (Foundation)
Mrs Jill Priddle Diocesan Education Committee (Foundation)
Mrs Litha Bacon Diocesan Education Committee (Foundation)
Mr Daniel Reason Parent Governor
Mr Rob White Parochial Church Council (Foundation)
Mrs Claire Kenrick Parochial Church Council (Foundation)
Vacancy Parochial Church Council
Vacancy Parent Governor
Vacancy Local Education Authority


Responsibility of the governors


It is the responsibility of the governors to:


  • Establish the aims and policies of the school and ensure a high standard of education for all the children
  • Decide, in general terms, how the school should be run
  • Draw up the school improvement plan
  • Decide how the school budget is spent
  • Appoint all school staff
  • Act as a link between the school and the local community
  • Draw up and monitor the Action Plan after a school inspection


The Full Governing Body meets each term.


There are also three special committees, Finance and General Purposes (incorporating Premises), Pupils and Personnel and Strategic Development, which meet each term.


The Pay Committee, the Admissions and Complaints Committee meet when required.